Thursday, October 10, 2013

The Moral Law of Christianity – The Ten Commandments

Not everyone is familiar with the doctrines and the beliefs of the Church; however, most are aware of the existence of the Ten Commandments, given by God to Moses, forming therefore the moral law for His people.

The Commandments are:
a.       I am the Lord thy God…Thou shalt have no other gods before me
b.       Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven images…Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them
c.       Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
d.      Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
e.      Honour they father and thy mother: that thy days may be long.
f.        Thou shalt not kill.
g.       Thou shalt not commit adultery.
h.      Thou shalt not steal.
i.         Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.
j.        Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house.
The first four teach the faithful of our duties towards God, whilst the last six show the duties and love towards one another. The meaning of these commandments was the fact that Jesus gave these to His people in order for us to keep them, not from fear of punishment or hope of reward, but from love to what is good whilst also discarding anything which is evil. Goodness is not only found in good actions, but in the goodness of the heart, from where all goodness derives from. The moral law is, thus, to be found in the hearts of all the people.

No comments:

Post a Comment