Thursday, May 21, 2015

Enoseos Monument, Corfu

This monument is dedicated to commemoration of the unification of the Ionian Island with Greece in 21 May 1864. Etched on the monument are the emblems of all seven Ionian Islands (which are Corfu, Paxi, Lefkada, Ithaki, Kefalonia, Zakynthos, Kythira). Corfu Town being the capital of Corfu and the largest city in the Ionian islands, is the best location for such a monument. 

No comments:

Post a Comment